KFN currently receives €1.5 million per year in institutional funding from the Lower Saxony Ministry for Science and Culture.

In addition, KFN has attracted substantial external funding for almost all current research projects over the years. Sponsors include, or have included, Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG, the German Research Foundation), various other foundations, federal and Länder ministries, crime prevention bodies, cities, administrative districts and municipalities.

The state funding is essential in obtaining outside funding in that it enables KFN to attract leading experts from a range of disciplines who themselves raise research funding and create new jobs for researchers.


Organization chart

Board of Directors

Bliesener, Prof. Dr. Thomas (Director)
Bartsch, Prof. Dr. Tillmann (deputy Director)

Business Manager

Waldhof, Renate

Equal Opportunities Officer

Zietlow, Bettina
Krieg, Yvonne (deputy)


Dreißigacker, Arne
Goede, Laura-Romina (in parental leave)
Isenhardt, Dr. Anna Krieg, Yvonne
Labarta Greven, Nora
Lehmann, Dr. Lena
Müller, Philipp
Neubert, Carolin
Neumann, Merten
Rehbein, DP Dr. Florian
Rook, Leonie
Schröder, Carl Philipp
Schüttler, Helena
Skarczinski, Bennet von (external)
Stiller, Anja
Treskow, Laura
Zietlow, Bettina


Bergmann, Birgit
Mecklenburg, Eberhard
Pfeffer, Melanie
Schleier, Christian